We are pleased to offer Texas License to Carry (formerly known as Concealed Handgun License) courses. We have several instructors, please select from the drop down. Pricing will vary based on instructor, pricing here includes range fee for qualification on site.
About the Texas Concealed Carry Class:
Only this one class is required to obtain your Texas LTC/CHL.
The Class includes EVERYTHING needed to apply:
- The classroom portion involves four to six hours of instruction by our Texas concealed handgun instructor certified by the DPS.
- The course curriculum covers:
- Laws related to weapons and the use of deadly force
- Handgun use and safety
- Non-violent dispute resolution
- Safe storage of handguns
- The classroom instruction concludes with a 25-question exam. The applicant must score 70 percent or better to pass.
- The shooting proficiency test follows the classroom section of the
class. The test involves 50 shots at timed intervals at a B-27 target at
distances of 3, 7 and 15 yards. The B-27 target is roughly the size of
a human silhouette. Scoring is based on the combat system and passing
is 70 percent (175 points out of a possible 250). Eighty percent of the
shots are taken at 3 and 7 yards; so, it is possible to pass the test
with no score at the 15-yard distance. It is not a difficult test.
However, passing the test does requires the student to demonstrate
reasonable shooting ability, safe gun handling and familiarity with
loading and safety procedures.
Please note you do NOT need to own/have a gun to take this class. You may borrow one from our instructor.
*Classes may be canceled if a minimum of two students do not
sign up. If that happens we will do everything possible to find an
agreeable substitute date for you.
Details on the requirements and disqualifiers for licensure can be found at https://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/LTC/faqs/index.htm. The fee here includes both the classroom instruction and range fee for the shooting qualification. Participants are required to supply a government issued photo ID. Participants are also encouraged to have hearing and eye protection, these will be available at the range if needed. For the shooting qualification, the range requires shooters wear closed-toe shoes, hearing protection and eye protection at all times on the range. Participants will also be required to sign a release of liability and hold harmless agreement once at the range.
Special request courses are available for your private party, couples, ladies groups, etc... Feel free to contact us to tell us about your special course request.